Answers to Questions About the TAE40116 Upgrade


People who are holders of the TAE40110 Certificate IV in Training and Assessment have some questions about the new edition of the course. Is it different from the previous TAE? If so, how different? Can they still qualify for jobs as trainers and assessors with the TAE40110 today? Is the upgrade truly necessary? All these and more will be answered in this article.

On April 6th 2016, Australia’s official Government Training website formally released the TAE40116 Certificate 4 in Training and Assessment, the latest course to supersede the TAE40110. It was set for release the year prior as TAE40115 but got delayed due to discussions in finalising and accepting the changes for the course.

Am I still qualified for a training or assessment job if I only have the TAE40110?

Take note that even with the new upgrade, the TAE40110 is still the national standard qualification for vocational assessors and business trainers. Any certificate holder of the previous Certificate IV is still able and qualified to work in Australian RTOs (registered training organisations) and TAFEs (technical and further education) institutions. But only until the end of March 2019.  As of April 2019, all TAE40110 holders will be required to upgrade to the new certificate if they wish to continue in a training and assessment position.

How is the new upgraded course different from the previous one?

The upgrade acknowledges a TAE40110 holder’s work experience and current qualifications and, at the same time, provides gap training for new units and proficiencies.

While the qualifications have their similarities, like having a minimum requirement of 10 units of Competency, they also have their differences.

  1.       TAE40110 requires the completion of at least three (3) elective units as well as seven (7) core units, while the upgraded course needs at least one (1) elective unit and nine (9) core units. The two (2) additional core units are TAELLN411: Address Adult Language, Literacy, and Numeracy Skills and TAEASS502: Design and Develop Assessment Tools.
  2.       The unit TAEASS401 superseded unit TAEASS401B: Plan Assessment Activities and Processes. Another new unit TAEASS403 superseded unit TAEASS403B: Participate in Assessment Validation. These units are not equivalent to their previous counterparts because of the current units’ increased assessment prerequisites. These units will require gap training.

Despite these modifications, the other TAE40110 units not mentioned are still considered equivalent to the units that superseded them.

What are the new course units?

The upgraded course TAE40116 has a total of 10 course units, with one (1) elective unit and nine (9) core units.

Elective units

TAEDEL301: Provide Work Skill Instruction

TAEDEL403: Coordinate and Facilitate Distance-Based Learning

TAEDEL404: Mentor in The Workplace

TAEDEL501: Facilitate E-Learning

TAELLN412: Access Resources and Support to Address Foundation Skills

TAELLN413: Integrate Foundation Skills into Vocational Training Delivery

TAEASS301: Contribute to Assessment

TAETAS401: Maintain Training and Assessment Information

BSBAUD402: Participate in A Quality Audit

BSBCMM401: Make A Presentation

BSBLED401: Develop Teams and Individuals

BSBMKG413: Promote Products and Services

BSBREL402: Build Client Relationships and Business Networks

BSBRES401: Analyse and Present Research Information

Core units

TAEDEL401: Plan, Organise, and Deliver Group-Based Learning

TAEDEL402: Plan, Organise, and Facilitate Learning in the Workplace

TAEDES401: Design and Develop Learning Programs

TAEDES402: Use Training Packages and Accredited Courses to Meet Client Needs

TAELLN411: Address Adult Language, Literacy, and Numeracy Skills

TAEASS401: Plan Assessment Activities and Processes

TAEASS402: Assess Competence

TAEASS403: Participate in Assessment Validation

TAEASS502: Design and Develop Assessment Tools

How do I enrol in the course to get the new units?

In order to acquire the new units, one must fulfil the new entry prerequisites.

  1.       Secure an official copy of the Statement of Attainment or the TAE40110 Certificate IV in Training and Assessment qualification.
  2.       Supply proof of one’s recent work experience that’s related to training and assessment.
  3.       Take on gap training for the updated course units.

Should you be interested in upgrading your TAE40110 Certificate IV in Training and Assessment qualification by enrolling in the new TAE40116, you will find a number of suitable online and in-class learning organisations that can help you attain the certificate. By completing the new course, more opportunities for vocational training and education jobs await you. Enrol now!

Written by Shenoa Gittins

Shenoa is the Operations Manager and co-owner of RAM Training Services.
You can connect with Shenoa Gittins via Google+ and Facebook.


Subscribe to receive updates from RAM Training Services


Subscribe through RSS
RAM Training Blog Feed

Follow RAM Training

Are you interested in furthering your training? Send us an Enquiry today: Send Enquiry

Please feel free to fill out our enquiry form below with any questions or queries you may have regarding our services. We will respond as quickly as possible. Alternatively you can call us on 1300 328 500.

  • Left Column Start

  • Left Column End

  • Right Column Start

  • Right Column End